Describe personality of person with Adjectives

By using the Most common personality adjectives you are able to describe the personality of a person you know.

  • I am putting-up the full document here for usage of Intermediate/Advanced students of our Learn English program at T.r.i.c.k.s
  • Use these words as you Learn to speak in English – to communicate your views better… be careful with the negative words.
  • Do make 2/3 sentences using each one of them and speak them out in the role-plays given to you in the class.

 Most common personality adjectives (from the Document)…

The character traits described by the personality adjectives under ‘Section a’ below are considered to be “good” or positive by most English speakers. The list under ‘Section b’ is for some negative personality traits. This is generally true but remember that words are often used subjectively. For example, “determined” is shown here as a positive personality adjective, while “stubborn” has got a negative connotation (the literal meaning of both is very similar). Use them in your everyday speech/writing…… Make 2-3 sentences of ‘your own’ on each and relate them with a person you know to Learn and remember them… have fun!

a)   Adjectives that Describe people Positively

adaptable, adventurous, affectionate, agreeable, ambitious, amicable, amusing, brave, bright, broad-minded, calm, careful, charming, conservationist, compassionate, considerate, courageous, courteous, creative, decisive, determined, diligent, diplomatic, dynamic, easygoing,
emotional, energetic, enthusiastic, extroverted, fair-minded, faithful, fearless, forceful, frank, friendly, funny, generous, gentle, good, hard-working, helpful, humorous, imaginative, impartial, independent, intellectual, intelligent, kind, loving, loyal, modest, neat, nice, optimistic, passionate, patient, persistent, philosophical, polite, powerful, practical, pro-active, quick-witted, quiet, rational, reliable, reserved, resourceful, romantic, self-confident, self-disciplined, sensible, sensitive, shy, sincere, sociable, straightforward, sympathetic, thoughtful, tidy, tough, unassuming, understanding, Tactful, versatile, warmhearted, willing, witty

b)   Describe people negatively (Please take care in using them; even with the people you don’t like… they can be your best friends too!)

aggressive, arrogant, boring, bossy, careless, changeable, compulsive, cruel, cunning, detached, dishonest, dogmatic, domineering, flirtatious, foolish, fussy, greedy, harsh, impatient, impolite, inconsistent, indecisive, inflexible, interfering, intolerant, introverted, irresponsible, jealous, lazy, mterialistic, mean, miserly, moody, narrow-minded, nasty, naughty, nervous, obsessive, over-emotional, pessimistic, possessive, rude, ruthless, sarcastic, secretive, selfish, short tempered, silly, stubborn, stupid, superficial, Superstitious, Tactless, timid, touchy, thoughtless, unkind, unpredictable, unreliable, untidyuntrustworthy

T.r.i.c.k.s and Tips to Learn them, remember them and use them in describing a person and comparing two or more people:

1. Try to understand 5 per day and relate them with a person you know…. you may even relate them with an Animal e.g. ‘clever like a fox’

2. Think of 5 that you associate yourself strongly with and write down some examples of when you used that personality trait

3. Play the alligation game of assigning a ‘negative word’ to a fellow student… it’s just a game to take it lighlt and explain how and in what situations you are not that

4. Compare popular characters from the films or political parties on the personality that they display

5. Enjoy using them and associating good personality words to people in yous family, friends and colleagues. You will see a change in their behavior as well!

3 thoughts on “Describe personality of person with Adjectives

  1. Yesterday routine
    I woke up at 6 am every day like yesterday morning. Then I washed my face and then I drank a cup of tea and then I got ready to go to office. Suddenly, there was a call from my client. He told me about Flat and then I reached my client’s house at Vasant Vihar. Then I explained him all about convenience and then he reached in my office at 12 o’clock. Thereafter I told all things to my boss. That he reached again the same customer to buy flats in my office. Thereafter we all had drunk the tea together. He had already seen our flat. Then I filled the booking form. Thus I had sold a flat yesterday. so, I worked at yesterday full day. So I did not came in the class yesterday. Then I went my home in the evening at 9 pm. Then went at home and I ate dinner thereafter some time with the kids watched cartoons on television and then I went to sleep at 12 o’clock midnight. Thanks

    Weakenday
    My weakenday was very interested days. We went to haridwar with family. There we stayed in hotel and then we bathed in ganga ji thereafter we saw some temples. There were many temple. We went Bharat Mata Temple on next day. Bharat Mata Temple built hight 9th floors. We saw 11th temples in haridwar and we went Mansa Devi on hill. Thereafter we bathed in ganga ji and we went Chandi Devi on hill in ropeway. Thereafter we came back to hotel in pedestrain and then we ate food in the hotel. Thereafter we bought some toys and cloths in night. Thus we were doing full enjoy. Thereafter we came to back to delhi after haridwar visited.
    Thanks!

    Daily Routine
    I wake up at 5 am every morning and then I wash my face and hand and then drink one cup of tea. thereafter I watch the some news on television and after some time, take bath and preparation to go to office. I get up ready to go to office, then I pray to god. Then I take light breakfast and I go to office. I reach at 9.30 am in my office. Then I fill the attendence and I go to my cabin. Thereafter I start the work. Then first check new email and phone calls thereafter I overhaul discuss with my team and then all report give to my senior. Then we all team member drink tea with together. Thereafter all team member go to market. Thus, become evening, then I leave my office at 7 pm. and I go to my home. I reach my home at 9 pm. Then wash to mouth and hand and change cloths and take one cup of tea. thereafter I watch television with family and I eat the dinner with family at 10 pm. and then we all sleep on bed at 11 pm.
    Thanks!

    About me
    I am Narender Malik, I belong Shahdara in Delhi, I have done graduation from Delhi University and I have done MBA in Real Estate Management & Marketing from National Institute of Management Solutions (Distance), Delhi and I have done PG Diploma (Computer Aplication Course) in DAV Computer Centre, New Delhi .
    I have 11th years experience in Real Estate Industry.
    I worked as a marketing executive with Royal Advertising Pvt. Ltd. in Greater Kailash since 1997 to 2007.
    I worked as a Sales Team Leader with Veracity Real Estate & Const. Pvt. Ltd. in Shahdara, since 2007 to 2013.
    I working as a Asst. of Sales Manager with Supertech Limited in sec. 58, Noida, since 2013 to till day.
    And my family is one daughter and one son and my wife is housewife.
    And my hobbies is Internet surfing and new things search
    Thanks!

    Like

  2. This is a very exhaustive list of adjectives one can associate with the personalities.. I have played this with some students and colleagues in T.r.ic.k.s and it was great fun and learning as it made my vocabulary more active . There are five activities that Ashish has mentioned in the article above and doing this together or with your fellow students can be a great way to learn.

    Like

    • the idea is for the students to learn at least 20 +ive and 20 -ive… they should be able to talk about their own weakness and strength as a person (asked in almost all the job interviews)… Please moderate the Activities in the class as you advice that doing them will help your students… have a great/fun-filled session. You may also play ‘an allegation game’! (I will talk about it when we meet next)

      Like

Submit your Assignment, Ask a Question? or just Leave a Comment on what you liked...

