Where Do you want to be in any conversation: On the side of Asking questions Or on the Answering side?

Where Do you want to be in any conversation: On the side of Asking questions Or on the Answering side?

I personally want to be on the Asking Question side as that gets we more information and I am really very curious!

Like many professions, my job as a trainer/coach and guide involves Asking questions… well of course I also need to answer the questions asked from me by my many learners who come to us for ‘conversations in English’ classes at our personality development center in Noida.

What are Jobs where the main task is to ask Right and Powerful questions? Some of the Answers we routinely get in my class include: Doctors, Journalists, Lawyers, Students, the Boss, HR or Interviewer and some people even comment that they really get a lot of Nagging questions from there wives ;-)… We have answer them all and most difficult ones in English

Life is about Asking the right questions even from myself… I need to ask more and more powerful questions: In my next post, I will discuss what are Powerful questions and is it an Art or is there some Science in asking right questions at the right time…

Till that time, Keep asking questions whenever you have one… Never say I have NO Questions when asked at the end of the Interview. “Do you have any Questions for me?”

4 thoughts on “Where Do you want to be in any conversation: On the side of Asking questions Or on the Answering side?

  1. This statement is very profound .. I’m touched with this philosophy ..it takes a mature personality to ask yourself a right questions because so many times our own thoughts create a delirium (making us appear very smart)
    Life is about Asking the right questions even from myself… I need to ask more and more powerful questions: In my next post, I will discuss what are Powerful questions and is it an Art or is there some Science in asking right questions at the right time…

    A thought just crossed me ..its from J Krishnamurthy …when a question comes of age it finds the answer
    Thanks

    Like

    • Great that you appreciated it, its for reading by one & all…so that everyone benefits from my writing and yse I have read Jiju a long time back so some of his thoughts got stuck and I resonate with them. ‘Art of asking questions’ is a program I am working on and a new blog has been started towards the same: its http://www.tips2learn.wordpress.com

      please give tricks4english or tricks4interview blog reference to your students and get them to submit their homework here as Monika does it. they should do some reading to develop their thoughts and build vocab. Hope this is easy for a student to understand else you may also write some simple stories that has some moral/value in them and/or a joke that makes them laugh. Leave the choice to you.

      best regards
      Ashish

      Like

  2. I think answering question is more powerful than Asking questions because when we answer different types of questions we have more talking time. That’s very good for our practice. Please share your comments & your thoughts.

    Like

    • Thanks Sahil for a good comment: I understand your view that you still need to be able to Answer your simple questions: these can be Yes/No type closed questions or Open questions. First you understand the questions so that you answer them right… then you start framing your own questions… you learn to answer yes/no or ‘one-word’ answer types of questions quite easily (you already can!)… then you start to answer longer or more descriptive ‘How to’ questions.

      Please come prepared with some questions and you can also do a class presentation where all the students will ask you 10-15 questions so that you can answer them to gain confidence. I am all available to do corrections both in your questions as well as your answers 🙂

      Look forward to your preparation, participation and practice in the class tomorrow.

      Like

Submit your Assignment, Ask a Question? or just Leave a Comment on what you liked...

