Would you mind if I ask, “what’s your mood today?”

The words ‘Mind’ and ‘Mood’ are used in a variety of situations we hear them regularly… we even use these words in Hindi….”Mind mat karna” and “Aaj Mood nahin hai” etc.

Are you familiar with all the meanings and usages of ‘mind’ & ‘mood’? Can you frame your sentences and understand the expressions where they are used?… Did you really mind my asking about your mood today?

These are the ‘2 words we are going to Learn today’ – with that some common expressions and more words like mindset, moody etc…So, please ‘prepare your mind’ and get into ‘the right mood’ to learn: how to confidently use these words and expressions in your everyday conversations.

MIND

Your mind is where your thinking happens. If you’ve made up your mind, you’ve come to a decision.

Mind can also mean “pay attention to” or “watch.” If someone tells you to “mind your manners,” they want you to be polite. If you tell them to Mind: Knowledge is powermind their own business,” maybe they’ll leave you alone. When I ask, “Would you mind if I open a window?” I’m asking if this would bother you.

I am sure you have heard:

Regular announcements in the Delhi Metro: “Please Mind the Gap”,

“Mind your Language” the video episodes we swatch to get some fun from British Humor as it happens in Mr. Brown’s English class

All I want is some “Peace of Mind”

Some more usages picked from the Media (thanks to http://www.vocabulary.com): 

A large part of me realized early on that it was my mind playing tricks. (BBC Oct 25, 2013)

Aspiring Minds research has been featured in The Economist and Wall Street Journal among other media. (Scientific American Oct 24, 2013)

But wealthy Singaporeans don’t mind spending several hundred thousand dollars on a luxury car. (BBC Oct 24, 2013)

But Dr Addyman thinks that studying babies’ laughter can be just as effective at helping us pinpoint developments in the way their minds are expanding. (BBC Oct 19, 2013)

Please keep in mind that you still have to click open this link to see all the meanings

Words that come from it: Mindset, Mindful, Mindfulness, Mindfully, Mindless, Mindlessly, Mindlessness, broad-minded, narrow-minded…

MOOD

Are you feeling good or bad, cheerful or irritable right now? This is your mood.

Mood refers to how you feel at the present time and this keeps changing depending on how moody you are. If you want to ask your boss for a raise, wait until he or she is in a good mood. Don’t ask, though, if heMood can Change but words won't or she is “in a bad mood” – that means the person is irritable or already irritated. If you are in the mood for something like ice cream or spicy food, you would like to have it now. Mood can also describe the attitude of a group of people or the feeling of a film, novel or piece of music.

I am sure you have heard: “What’s your mood today?”; “I was not in a mood to go to the office so made a excuse”; “Let’s get into the mood and try something new.”

Some more usages picked from the Media (thanks to http://www.vocabulary.com).

 Studies have linked repeated concussions with a chronic disease with symptoms including memory loss and mood swings. (BBC Oct 26, 2013)

They are already in militant mood, with strikes planned next week over pay. (BBC Oct 25, 2013)

Expressive writing is known to help assuage psychological trauma and improve mood. (Scientific American Oct 19, 2013)

Words that come from it: Moody, Moodiness, Moodily

Enough knowledge of the words… “Let’s concentrate our minds and get into a mood to make our own sentences” so that speak them out before the end of the class and build your active vocabulary with these words.

Now, would you mind if I ask again, “what’s your mood today?”

************ End of the Post ***********

Like we did words of feelings in the BASIC course, We will do usage of different Mood words in the Intermediate/Get Selected/Go Global programs. I will write about that in another post.

5 thoughts on “Would you mind if I ask, “what’s your mood today?”

  1. SIR, ITS REALLY NICE that you explained the meaning of ‘mind’ & ‘mood’ in a very simple way………& what a good and a simple topic you have choose…….when today i woke was not in a great mood….n i told to my friends that beware today i m not in a great mood….but when i came to the t.r.i.c.k.s…..suddenly my ‘mind’ beame active and automatically my ‘mood’ swings in a better way….& i’ m looking for more posts………:)

    Like

  2. Sir, it’s really superb execution and now I am very keen on to know about your institute. Would you mind, if I ask how do you write this type of post? Wow! it’s really awesome and useful for me …this blog can change my mood and can gear me up to improve my English. I would like to join your institute but don’t mind I can’t because my mood is diverted towards Diwali. whereas I also think that I should mind my English studies..

    Like

    • Thanks Abhitesh, I have posted details on the institute on ‘About us‘ page – we call it T.r.i.c.k.s which is a personality development center apart from focus on English Language skills. I have also posed on that page how I write.

      Feedback on your English: It will be good to have you here as a student in the Intermediate Batch as already assessed. Please do join the batch after your registration is done. Do also come with concentration of your mind… The sentences made by you are ‘by and far’ okay so you may need grammar brush-up plus right usage of your words and Lot of practice for your Pronunciation.

      To keep looking at the Posts and feel free to comment.

      Like

  3. Thanks SIr, I can used mood word in my sentances and can speak them out: “Today in the early morning, I feel nip in air, so I’m in a happy mood.

    Mind: Do you mind if i use your mobile phone for sending sms or outcall.

    Like

Submit your Assignment, Ask a Question? or just Leave a Comment on what you liked...

